10 Fire & Stone - Covent Garden Reviews

Back to Fire & Stone - Covent Garden

Respond to Author

Review by MG (4 January 2008)

I’ve been to Fire and Stone at least five times and really do love it. Although I can honestly say, one of the five times the pizza came out a tad overcooked, but the peculiar but wonderful toppings make up for it! My friends and I go there, whenever we get the chance.


Respond to Author

Review by Andrew Morgan (11 August 2006)

I have been there three separate occasions and enjoyed excellent pizzas every time; their toppings are highly original and I have always found them to be extremely tasty. Plus the place is one of the most original restaurants in Covent Garden, while the service is very pleasant as well. I'll be going back again soon.


Respond to Author

Review by Jan Star (24 July 2006)

The blandest pizza I have ever eaten - Pizza Express is better than this. The pizza base is thick and biscuit like and the toppings - whilst different - were extremely bland. They did get our starter wrong but this was corrected well with an apology and removing the starter altogether from the bill. The only good thing in this place was the wine.


Respond to Author

Review by Nicole (5 July 2006)

This restaurant is amazing! The goat’s cheese was the best starter I have had for years. I can't believe some of the reviews on this site. Not only is the actually venue stunningly designed but it is such an original venue and the menu is to die for. Ignore these reviews on this site and go to the place and judge it for yourself. I promise you won’t be disappointed!


Respond to Author

Review by Nici (28 December 2005)

I am shocked by some of the reviews for this Restaurant. I have been there many times and it still remains one of my favourite cheap eat restaurants. Definitely good value for money and the pizzas are divine.


Respond to Author

Review by Claire Potter (21 December 2005)

I went to Fire & Stone for my work Christmas party and was not impressed. For starters I decided to go for the Deep fried Goats Cheese Salad, the goats cheese was tasty and cooked well, however I was extremely disappointed with the soggy cold and obviously tinned mushrooms that lay across the top, as with the fire roasted red pepper dressing which was bland and tasteless.


My main choice was their special "Christmas pizza". Having booked many weeks previous and selected our mains already I was really looking forward to this one. Roast turkey, rosemary potatoes, flash fried sweet potatoes on a spicy cranberry based topped with crème fraiche and chives... The base was bland and soggy, the turkey was obviously mechanically reclaimed rubbish not freshly sliced and from a packet, uniform square slices. It simply had little taste, I ate less than half of it and left the rest.


Pudding, dessert, whatever you like to call it, that’s usually somewhere where you can't go wrong. Tiramisu, ok so not very adventurous but it's one of my favourites. Fire and Stones version is not made with mascarpone, but with a very bland tasting creamy substance, a couple of spongy type biscuits somewhere underneath the mounds of cream and soak in amaretto, not a hint of coffee in sight and the whole thing was topped with a layer of coco powder so thick it actually made me choke.


The list goes on... Coffee, I ordered a macchiato ok not on their menu but any barista could knock one of these up. Espresso with a dash of foamed milk. Although I ordered one of these and the waitress took the order I was greeted with a espresso, not a bad tasting one but not what I asked for, I had to resort to stealing a little of my colleague’s cold milk.


In conclusion Fire and Stone has the potential to be a wonderful pizza restaurant the trendy interiors and modern exciting menu fills you with promises of sumptuous delights, a few drinks and a good time. What you actually get is poor quality ingredients


Respond to Author

Review by Sandra Adedapo (21 December 2005)

Anyone that has been to Italy to eat the real stuff could only state that your pizzas taste very different indeed. I was not impressed at all.


Respond to Author

Review by William Varley (29 October 2005)

Went there for the first time on Friday evening (two of us). Although booked, longish wait for badly located table. Pizzas different but that's where it ends; rather bland, nothing on somewhere like Strada (which is similarly priced yet far more classy), and the bases were not that thin and crispy (not deep pan, but in the middle, and not too nice). Had to wait for ten minutes at the bar in order to pay. For the money, don't be tempted by the adventurous toppings; head straight to somewhere like Strada for better value.


Editor: I also went there last week and thought that my Lombok pizza was both tasty and different, c'est la vie.


Respond to Author

Review by Danielle (27 October 2005)

Ate in Fire & Stone last night with 2 friends. We arrived during happy hour, so most bottles of wine were half price and beer was £2.50. The pizza menu is varied and unusual, separated by continents round the world, toppings were different, for example rosemary potatoes and sour cream. Good choice for vegetarians - I couldn't decide what to have! Pizza was very tasty and atmosphere was nice - Wagamama style seating. Full price the drinks are a bit pricey and service was average. Generally a nice place to go for an unusual pizza.


Respond to Author

Review by MM (28 September 2005)

Went to Fire & Stone last night, really enjoyed it, seems like it's best to book if you want a seat upstairs. Downstairs is not bad. Prices similar to Pizza Express but the variety of pizzas is much better. Staff were excellent, liked the interior and the food was very nice. Very reasonably priced, great place to go for pizza post-work.


Write A Review For Fire & Stone - Covent Garden

Have you eaten at Fire & Stone - Covent Garden? Then why not write a review for Fire & Stone - Covent Garden! It only takes a few moments and no registration is required.

Back to Fire & Stone - Covent Garden

Other Restaurants You May Like

Luna Rossa - Kensington Park Road

Italian, Pizza in Kensington & Notting Hill

Otto Pizza

International, Pizza in Bayswater & Maida Vale

Made in Italy - Soho

Pizza in Mayfair, Soho & Fringes

The Pizza Express

Pizza in Camden, Islington & Marylebone

Pucci Pizza

Pizza in Kensington & Notting Hill

Vigata Ristorante & Pizzeria

Italian, Pizza in Camden, Islington & Marylebone

Special Offers

Belgo - Centraal

Covent Garden & Theatreland

20% off food - Christmas Party Menu - 2 courses £19.95 or 3 courses £24.95

Bay, The

Penzance

Menu du Jour - 2 courses for £13.45 and 3 courses for £17.45

Banyan on the Thames at Hotel Rafayel

South of the River - West

50% discount from A La Carte Menu - applies when ordering a minimum of 2 courses per person, including a main course

Sorrento Restaurant

Stratford-upon-Avon

2/3 Course Set Menu £14.90/£18.90

Selected Restaurant

Table Table - Mill Lodge, Lincoln

Lincoln

Part of the Whitbread family, Table Table restaurants aim to bring great value tasty pub food to an ever increasing eating-out public who like well prepared and genuine food served by friendly staff ...