10 Olive Press - Manchester Reviews

Back to Olive Press - Manchester

Respond to Author

Review by Ian (29 November 2008)

We ate on a Sunday when scaffolding and dust sheets covered the building. The décor and furniture was fresh and modern, with a definite informal atmosphere set off by the open kitchen. The staff were very helpful in parking the pram and made sure our two and a half year old boy was included in the service, the chef even telling the waitress to wait until his food had cooled a bit more. The toilets were clean and the baby changing facility was excellent. Oh, and the food was excellent and value for money. This will definitely be a Sunday lunch destination.


Respond to Author

Review by Bill (23 November 2008)

The Olive Press is housed in an interesting and attractive Victorian building just off Deansgate. The interior design is modern and comfortable, but complements and enhances the impression of a quality restaurant. The dishes on the Sunday specials menu are all good and offer excellent value. The restaurant is child-family friendly and the staff are helpful. If you are in Manchester on Sunday this is the place to head to.


Respond to Author

Review by Pete (21 October 2008)

We ate at The Olive Press on Sunday, with friends, and found the bistro style menu to be very varied with good choices of pastas and pizzas. We started with antipasto and the Olive Press loaf, which consisted of various breads, while our friends had meatballs. The main course of two pizzas, penne pasta with char grilled chicken, basil pesto and seafood risotto followed. The pizzas were superb, the bases were thin and crispy, and they were enormous. Both the food and service were extremely good, and considering we all ate so well and had the house wine and coffees, the bill of under £100 provided good value for money.


Respond to Author

Review by Kinniki (2 September 2008)

I went last night with a bunch of mates and thought that we got amazing food and service for what we paid. My baked tuna and salmon cannelloni were quite decent and extremely filling. There were no complaints from my friends about the tagliatelle carbonara or the American chorizo pizza. There was a slight issue with the spaghetti with spicy lamb meatballs being bland but for the spice. At £34 including two cokes and two small glasses of wine, I'm definitely going back.


Respond to Author

Review by Archie Kilpatrick (22 January 2008)

As a student I don't eat out often, but prior to Christmas my girlfriend and I went to Olive Press for a wee treat. All in all it was good, but not fantastic. To my mind the risotto, which I had, was far too dry and overpowered by the red wine it had been cooked with. The tuna burger also appeared to have been made from tinned tuna, which wasn't what I was expecting. The bill wasn't too bad, but I would have loved the food to have been a bit more special for what we paid. The staff were very friendly and there was a nice atmosphere.


Respond to Author

Review by Andrew C (14 August 2006)

Having read the previous reviews, I must disagree; I went to the Olive Press for my birthday this past weekend, my wife, who had been before with her friends, treated me and our three children to a first time visit and we had a fantastic time!


The food was delicious, I enjoyed one of the best steaks I have ever had and two of our children got to make their own pizza; a kid friendly gimmick you may expect to go out the window on a busy Saturday night but not here which is a credit to the service.


Despite being busy, we were well looked after and felt like the staff genuinely wanted us to have a good time.


Had I seen the previous reviews before my visit I might have asked my wife to take us somewhere else, I’m glad I didn't and have no qualms in recommending the Olive Press.


Respond to Author

Review by Jo (18 April 2006)

We had been recommended to this restaurant by a work colleague, but it later transpired that they had only eaten at the Olive Press at lunchtime. We visited on a Saturday evening and were not really very impressed. We looked at the menu online before our visit and were looking forward to some authentic Italian food.


Unfortunately like the other reviewers on this site we found the service to be lacklustre and the food did not live up to its promise. The starters were delicious and all was looking promising, however, the main courses were a total disappointment. The chargrilled lamb was ok, but the grilled vegetables on the side were leathery and tasteless. The chicken with couscous was more like a starter portion and had no flavour whatsoever.


The food and service do not represent good value for money for an evening meal. We didn't dare tempt fate by having a dessert but the bill was still over £50 for two. Quite frankly we wished we'd gone to Pizza Express.


Respond to Author

Review by Ellen (8 January 2006)

Went to this restaurant last night as part of a group of 4. We wanted a nice meal and good wine to have a chat and catch up. We arrived exactly at 20:30 and were seated after a short delay whilst they laid our table. We were seated at the back wall - the table I think already mentioned by a previous reviewer, 2 of my party had their backs to a fire exit which was in constant use by staff getting supplies for the kitchen, thus causing cold draughts every 2 minutes, and I was sitting with my back to a till console with everybody else's coats hanging over my plate!


We were served fairly quickly and received our drinks within about 5 minutes. Our food order was taken efficiently enough, and our appetizers arrived within minutes, which we thought was a good sign.


The restaurant was packed with at least 4 groups of approximately 20 people in each. The atmosphere was therefore quite lively and buzzing, which we did not mind at all - we could still hear each other talking.


There was a queue for the ladies toilets which was perturbing - only 2 cubicles available!


However, our main course did not arrive until about 21:45. By this point we were extremely hungry and getting slightly agitated.


When it did arrive, the food was good. Portions were slightly smaller than expected for the price and than required after the wait.


The service staff were friendly and kept us supplied with drinks whilst we were waiting for our food.


I would try this restaurant again, to see if our experience was a one-off, but if the same thing happens again I will look elsewhere.


Respond to Author

Review by Kate (12 December 2005)

Our group of eight arrived at Olive Press at around 6.30 on a Friday. I had read some fairly good reviews and expected a nice meal. However, the service was inefficient and the food poor.


Despite having booked in advance, paying a £10 deposit each, we were told they had lost our booking. There was still a table available but we had to wait for a while.


Once we had sat down it took a very long time for anyone to take our order. We ordered two bottles of wine and two jugs of tap water. These did not arrive until after we had finished our starters as apparently the computer wasn't working.


For my starter I choose one of the specials: crayfish with avocado and chilli sauce. When it arrived it turned out to be guacamole rather than avocado. The crayfish tasted alright but the portion rather small. The guacamole was too acidic although the taste of the chilli sauce which smothered everything pretty much drowned out the rest. This was served with roquette covered in salt which I found horrible and utterly unnecessary.


For my main course I had the seafood and saffron risotto. This tasted of burnt cheese and nothing much else.


Others in the group generally found their food to be fairly poor. Comments included "Tesco’s do this far better" and "well, it's all right I suppose but I wouldn't bother with it again".


We didn't bother with pudding as the service had been fairly slow and some of our group were planning to go out in Manchester afterwards.


Although the restaurant itself was clean and looked very nice, the toilets were not and the staff had not bothered with putting the toilet roll in the holder just left it on the side. This was a problem for me as I'd just had a minor operation on my back and had trouble twisting.


Overall, the service was fairly friendly but rather inefficient. The food was not worth the price we paid for it. I am surprised that Olive Press does as well as it does, especially as there are many far better places nearby with ser


Respond to Author

Review by Chris (6 December 2005)

I have mixed experiences of this restaurant. The pizzas are authentic and undoubtedly delicious, whilst the pasta I have had on a number of occasions has been flabby. overcooked and waterlogged. The rib eye steak I ordered last week was unexciting and, in my opinion, overpriced. Service is indifferent - for the second time we were put on a table inches away from the till console with the restaurant coat rack dangling over our table. No black pepper or parmesan was offered with our main courses. The candle on our table remained unlit, and we had to replace it with one from an empty table. No one returned to our table during our meal to take drinks orders - we had to go the bar and get them ourselves. The decor is lovely and the atmosphere is certainly 'lively' although on some evenings I've seen the ambiance spoiled by raucous hen parties getting slaughtered. Probably best visited for a pizza at lunchtime.


Write A Review For Olive Press - Manchester

Have you eaten at Olive Press - Manchester? Then why not write a review for Olive Press - Manchester! It only takes a few moments and no registration is required.

Back to Olive Press - Manchester

Other Restaurants You May Like

Pizza Express - Manchester, Exchange Square

Pizza & Pasta in Manchester

Frankie & Benny's New York Italian Restaurant & Bar - Trafford Centre

American, Italian in Manchester

Bella Italia Manchester Piccadilly

Italian in Manchester

Antonio's Italian Restaurant

Italian in Manchester

Stock Restaurant

Italian in Manchester

Lava Cafe Bar

Hamburgers, Pizza & Pasta, Tapas in Manchester

Special Offers

Da Spago

Chelsea & South Kensington

Christmas menu at £29.50 per person

The Northall at Corinthia Hotel London

Covent Garden & Theatreland

STAR DEAL - 3 courses & a glass of champagne £30 per person

HKK

City & Fringes

4 course Sea Food Lunch Menu, £28.50

Bingham

Richmond-upon-Thames

Special Sunday Lunch: 3 courses for £38 & 3 courses including cheese for £45.

Selected Restaurant

County Kitchen at The County Hotel

Chelmsford

The County Kitchen, an important element of The County Hotel in Chelmsford, offers a cuisine that is essentially British but does not hesitate to cull ideas from other shores and continents. It also ...